The Higher Road.

The words of Danny Kemp.

87c0baf29c722e73d978e714c43ba995

The Higher Road.

I should have taken the higher road,

Than wading through the mire.

Which was of course the longer way,

And it’s vicious pleasures were my desire.

The dross, the grim, the wickedness,

Drew blood from deep within.

If I had taken the higher road,

Then I wouldn’t have loitered with such sin.

I’m wanton, I’m evil,

I’m weak flesh and bone.

If I’d taken the higher road,

By now I would be safe, and at home!

But I’m a sinner, I’m vile,

And I cannot relent.

If I’d had taken the higher road,

There’d be nothing to repent.

The higher road maybe lonely,

You may have to walk it alone.

At least you won’t have to carry

The sins you will have sown!

© 2014, Danny Kemp. All rights reserved.

View original post

Leave a Reply

