CALIFORNIA by SCOTT UTLEY: THE SEMI-GREAT NORTHRIDGE EARTH QUAKE: JANUARY 17, 1992 with ALEX M. JOHNS

THE NUCLEARMIND of SCOTT UTLEY

I let pass without acknowledging to my only friend in the world, POKER, my beloved pop-eyed Siamese fighting fish, that yesterday was the 23rd anniversary of the semi-great Northridge earthquake. I remember it was such a pretty day. At first I was fearful. Not then. Yesterday. Yesterday I was fearful that if I thought upon that day long ago I would fall into a blue grey melancholia. (Not really, I just felt like using that word.)
ALEX THEN
ALEX THEN
Alex Johns was up from San Diego to stay. We were young, smart, kind, talented & so beautiful. Well hell man, we were. It’s the truth.
Screw humility & the horse it rode in on. If it doesn’t bother POKER then that is all that matters. Nothing else. This reminds me, Alex also used to say to me, “bragging isn’t pretty.” What the xxxx did that mean? I’ll never know. But we were happy to be…

View original post 533 more words

Leave a Reply

